Actions

Difference between revisions of "Randomness, Structure and Causality - Bios"

From Santa Fe Institute Events Wiki

(Replaced content with '{{Randomness, Structure and Causality}}')
Line 1: Line 1:
 
{{Randomness, Structure and Causality}}
 
{{Randomness, Structure and Causality}}
 
<table border="1">
 
<tr>
 
<th>Name</th>
 
<th>Email</th>
 
<th>Institution</th>
 
<th>Talk</th>
 
<th>Paper</th>
 
</tr>
 
<tr>
 
<td>*Ay, Nihat</td>
 
<td>nay@mis.mpg.de</td>
 
<td>SFI & Max Planck Institute</td>
 
<td>Effective Complexity of Stationary Process Realizations</td>
 
<td>[[http://arxiv.org/abs/1001.2686]]</td>
 
</tr>
 
<tr>
 
<td>*Bell, Tony</td>
 
<td>tony@salk.edu</td>
 
<td>UC Berkeley</td>
 
<td>Learning Out of Equilibrium</td>
 
<td></td>
 
</tr>
 
<tr>
 
<td>Bergstrom, Carl</td>
 
<td>cbergst@u.washington.edu</td>
 
<td>SFI & University of Washington</td>
 
<td>The Transmission Sense of Information</td>
 
<td>[[http://arxiv.org/abs/0810.4168]]</td>
 
</tr>
 
<tr>
 
<td>Bialek, William</td>
 
<td>wbialek@Princeton.EDU</td>
 
<td>Princeton University</td>
 
<td>Optimizing Information Flow in Small Genetic Networks</td>
 
<td>[[http://arxiv.org/abs/0912.5500]]</td>
 
</tr>
 
<tr>
 
<td>*Chaitin, Gregory</td>
 
<td>gjchaitin@gmail.com</td>
 
<td>IBM Watson Research Center</td>
 
<td>To a Mathematical Theory of Evolution and Biological Creativity</td>
 
<td>[[File:Darwin.pdf]]</td>
 
</tr>
 
<tr>
 
<td>*Crutchfield, James</td>
 
<td>chaos@cse.ucdavis.edu</td>
 
<td>SFI & UC Davis</td>
 
<td>Framing Complexity</td>
 
<td>[[http://users.cse.ucdavis.edu/~cmg/compmech/pubs.htm]]</td>
 
</tr>
 
<tr>
 
<td>*Debowski, Lukasz</td>
 
<td>ldebowsk@ipipan.waw.pl</td>
 
<td>Polish Academy of Sciences</td>
 
<td>The Vocabulary of Grammar-Based Codes and the Logical Consistency of Texts</td>
 
<td>[[http://arxiv.org/abs/0810.3125]] and [[http://arxiv.org/abs/0911.5318]]</td>
 
</tr>
 
<tr>
 
<td>*Ellison, Christopher</td>
 
<td>cellison@cse.ucdavis.edu</td>
 
<td>UC Davis</td>
 
<td>Prediction, Retrodiction, and the Amount of Information Stored in the Present</td>
 
<td>[[http://arxiv.org/abs/0905.3587]]</td>
 
</tr>
 
<tr>
 
<td>*Feldman, David</td>
 
<td>dave@hornacek.coa.edu</td>
 
<td>College of the Atlantic</td>
 
<td>Complexity Measures and Frustration</td>
 
<td>[[File:afm.tri.5.pdf]] and [[File:CHAOEH184043106_1.pdf]] </td>
 
</tr>
 
<tr>
 
<td>*Mahoney, John</td>
 
<td>jmahoney3@ucmerced.edu</td>
 
<td>UC Merced</td>
 
<td>Crypticity and Information Accessibility</td>
 
<td>[[http://arxiv.org/abs/0905.4787]]</td>
 
</tr>
 
<tr>
 
<td>*Machta, Jon</td>
 
<td>machta@physics.umass.edu</td>
 
<td>SFI & University of Massachusetts</td>
 
<td>Complexity, Parallel Computation and Statistical Physics</td>
 
<td>[[http://arxiv.org/abs/cond-mat/0510809]]</td>
 
</tr>
 
<tr>
 
<td>*Mitchell, Melanie</td>
 
<td>mm@cs.pdx.edu</td>
 
<td>SFI & Portland State University</td>
 
<td>Automatic Identification of Information-Processing Structures in Cellular Automata</td>
 
<td></td>
 
</tr>
 
<tr>
 
<td>*Moore, Cris</td>
 
<td>moore@cs.unm</td>
 
<td>SFI & University of New Mexico</td>
 
<td>Phase Transitions and Computational Complexity</td>
 
<td></td>
 
</tr>
 
<tr>
 
<td>*Still, Suzanne</td>
 
<td>sstill@hawaii.edu</td>
 
<td>University of Hawaii at Manoa</td>
 
<td>Statistical Mechanics of Interactive Learning</td>
 
<td></td>
 
</tr>
 
<tr>
 
<td>Tononi, Guilio</td>
 
<td>gtononi@wisc.edu</td>
 
<td>University of Michigan</td>
 
<td>Measuring the Complexity of Psychological States </td>
 
<td></td>
 
</tr>
 
<tr>
 
<td>*Vilela-Mendes, Rui</td>
 
<td>vilela@cii.fc.ul.pt</td>
 
<td>University of Lisbon</td>
 
<td>Ergodic Parameters and Dynamical Complexity</td>
 
<td>[[http://arxiv.org/abs/1008.2664]]</td>
 
</tr>
 
<tr>
 
<td>Trabesinger, Andreas</td>
 
<td>a.trabesinger@nature.com</td>
 
<td>Nature Physics Magazine</td>
 
<td>Measuring Complexity?</td>
 
<td>[[http://www.nature.com/nphys/]]</td>
 
</tr>
 
<tr>
 
<td>*Wiesner, Karoline</td>
 
<td>k.wiesner@bristol.ac.uk</td>
 
<td>University of Bristol</td>
 
<td>Hidden Quantum Markov Models and Non-adaptive Read-out of Many-body States</td>
 
<td>[[http://arxiv.org/abs/1002.2337]]</td>
 
</tr>
 
</table>
 
<nowiki>*Confirmed</nowiki>
 

Revision as of 19:20, 17 December 2010