Actions

Difference between revisions of "Randomness, Structure and Causality - Bios"

From Santa Fe Institute Events Wiki

Line 13: Line 13:
 
<td>nay@mis.mpg.de</td>
 
<td>nay@mis.mpg.de</td>
 
<td>SFI & Max Planck Institute</td>
 
<td>SFI & Max Planck Institute</td>
<td></td>
+
<td> Measures of Complexity for Adaptive Behaviors</td>
 
<td></td>
 
<td></td>
 
</tr>
 
</tr>
Line 20: Line 20:
 
<td>tony@salk.edu</td>
 
<td>tony@salk.edu</td>
 
<td>UC Berkeley</td>
 
<td>UC Berkeley</td>
<td></td>
+
<td>Learning Out of Equilibrium</td>
 
<td></td>
 
<td></td>
 
</tr>
 
</tr>
Line 27: Line 27:
 
<td>cbergst@u.washington.edu</td>
 
<td>cbergst@u.washington.edu</td>
 
<td>SFI & University of Washington</td>
 
<td>SFI & University of Washington</td>
<td></td>
+
<td> Measures of Biological Communication </td>
 
<td></td>
 
<td></td>
 
</tr>
 
</tr>
Line 63: Line 63:
 
<td>UC Davis</td>
 
<td>UC Davis</td>
 
<td>Prediction, Retrodiction, and the Amount of Information Stored in the Present</td>
 
<td>Prediction, Retrodiction, and the Amount of Information Stored in the Present</td>
<td></td>
+
<td>[[http://arxiv.org/abs/0905.3587]]</td>
 
</tr>
 
</tr>
 
<tr>
 
<tr>
Line 83: Line 83:
 
<td>jmahoney3@ucmerced.edu</td>
 
<td>jmahoney3@ucmerced.edu</td>
 
<td>UC Merced</td>
 
<td>UC Merced</td>
<td>Information Accessibility</td>
+
<td>Crypticity and Information Accessibility</td>
<td></td>
+
<td>[[http://arxiv.org/abs/0905.4787]]</td>
 
</tr>
 
</tr>
 
<tr>
 
<tr>
Line 111: Line 111:
 
<td>gtononi@wisc.edu</td>
 
<td>gtononi@wisc.edu</td>
 
<td>University of Michigan</td>
 
<td>University of Michigan</td>
<td></td>
+
<td> Measures of Psychological States </td>
 
<td></td>
 
<td></td>
 
</tr>
 
</tr>

Revision as of 23:57, 13 December 2010

Workshop Navigation
Name Email Institution Talk Paper
Ay, Nihat nay@mis.mpg.de SFI & Max Planck Institute Measures of Complexity for Adaptive Behaviors
Bell, Tony tony@salk.edu UC Berkeley Learning Out of Equilibrium
Bergstrom, Carl cbergst@u.washington.edu SFI & University of Washington Measures of Biological Communication
Bialek, William wbialek@Princeton.EDU Princeton University
Chaitin, Gregory gjchaitin@gmail.com IBM Watson Research Center To a mathematical theory of evolution and biological creativity File:Darwin.pdf
Crutchfield, James chaos@cse.ucdavis.edu SFI & UC Davis Framing Complexity [[1]]
Debowski, Lukasz ldebowsk@ipipan.waw.pl Polish Academy of Sciences The Vocabulary of Grammar-Based Codes and the Logical Consistency of Texts [[2]] and [[3]]
Ellison, Christopher cellison@cse.ucdavis.edu UC Davis Prediction, Retrodiction, and the Amount of Information Stored in the Present [[4]]
Feldman, David dave@hornacek.coa.edu College of the Atlantic Spatial Information Theory File:Afm.tri.5.pdf and File:CHAOEH184043106 1.pdf
Goldenfeld, Nigel nigel@uiuc.edu University of Illinois Comments on Causality
Mahoney, John jmahoney3@ucmerced.edu UC Merced Crypticity and Information Accessibility [[5]]
Machta, Jon machta@physics.umass.edu SFI & University of Massachusetts
Mitchell, Melanie mm@cs.pdx.edu SFI & Portland State University Automatic Identification of Information-Processing Structures in Cellular Automata
Still, Suzanne sstill@hawaii.edu University of Hawaii at Manoa Statistical Mechanics of Interactive Learning
Tononi, Guilio gtononi@wisc.edu University of Michigan Measures of Psychological States
Vilela-Mendes, Rui vilela@cii.fc.ul.pt University of Lisbon Ergodic Parameters and Dynamical Complexity
Trabesinger, Andreas a.trabesinger@nature.com Nature Physics Magazine
Wiesner, Karoline k.wiesner@bristol.ac.uk University of Bristol Quantum Information Processing